## Town of Bourne Recycling Committee Meeting Minutes Wed, December 13, 2023

Time: 6:00 pm

Location: Veterans Memorial Community Building 239 Main St. Buzzards Bay, MA 02532

Members present: Heather DiPaolo, Charles Bresnahan, Mary Smith, and Jean Hills via Zoom

Staff Present: Phil Goddard, ISWM

**1. Call to order** – 6:02pm

**2. Approval:** Postpone approval of Notes from September 13, 2023 meeting and Minutes from November 8, 2023 meeting.

## 3. Plan & Discuss:

Before any business was discussed it was announced that Kelly Heede will be resigning from the committee due to many obligations taking more of her time and infringing on her ability to volunteer her time consistently with the committee. Her energy and enthusiasm that she brought to the committee was recognized as well as her ability to begin the conversation surrounding nip bottle litter in town.

a. Brief updates on current projects: Water bottle refill station project has been discussed with the new DPW Superintendent, Matthew Sawicki, and he will proceed with ordering the units from Most Dependable Fountains, Inc with the CPC funds that were approved at the May 2023 Town Meeting. Weekly ad space in the Bourne Enterprise has been secured by Phil Goddard to promote environmental messaging from the Committee. The "Do Not Bag" campaign will be the featured for the next four weeks. Phil has asked Committee Members to begin a list of tips/ideas to be cycled throughout the year. The Anti-Litter sign featuring nip bottles has been approved by ISWM, General Manager, Dan Barrett, and can be distributed to liquor stores and other appropriate locations in town.

b. 2024 Planning: The main messaging that arose from this brainstorm session was that the committee would like to focus on <u>clearer messaging to the public</u>. The list of all the ideas is attached to these Minutes.

## 4. Determine Task Items/Social Media:

Send all newspaper tip ideas to Phil over the next month.

## **5. Date/Location for next meeting:**

January 10, 2024 at 10am in the DPW Conference Room

**6. Adjourn.** 7:00 pm motion to adjourn by Mary, second by Charlie and it was carried by unanimous vote.

Respectfully submitted by Heather DiPaolo, Chair